Ballycastle >Local News

14th June '06




Ballycastle defeated Kilmovee Shamrocks 2 – 6 to 1 – 8 last Saturday evening in the County Junior Championship.

Ballycastle Team :   Jason O'Neill, Darren Madden, Daniel Breslin, Martin Heffernan, Paul O'Connor, Daniel Forde, Shane Healy (0-2), Shane Breslin (0-1), John Madden, Simon Barrett (0-1),

J.P. Guiheen (1-0), Francie Bonner, Fergal O'Connor (0-1), Shane Forde (1-1), Mairtín Flannery.  


Fixture :

Ballycastle v Lacken on Saturday evening (17th) at 7.30p.m. in the North Mayo Championship in Tom Langan Park, Ballycastle.


Training on Tuesday and Friday evenings at 8.30p.m.   All players are requested to attend.




Sympathy is extended to the family, relatives and friends of Marie Toher, Bonniconlon (sister of Patricia Earley, Laragon) who died recently.



‘Kiddies Korner' Playschool, Main Street, Ballycastle are currently taking enrolment for September '06.   Two sessions available -   9.15a.m. – 12.15p.m.   and 12.45p.m. – 3.45p.m.    Contact 096-43407 for details or call to the Playschool for registration form.



No.'s drawn on Saturday 10th   June were:   4.   11.   15.   27.   No Jackpot winner so Jackpot now stands at €17,000.   Next draw in Healys.

Five envelopes drawn:

Noel & Nuala Whelan,   Ballyknock

John Barrett,   Doonadoba

Mary Munnelly,   Muingelly

E. Flynn,   Doonadoba

Michael Bourke,   Heathfield


21st Birthday

Congratulations to Brian Healy, Glenurla who celebrated his 21st Birthday in Healy's on Saturday night last.



Just a few copies of the ‘Rovers' CD, featuring Ballycastle Emmetts, left.   Those can be got from the Craft Shop, opening hours are 10.00a.m. – 5.00p.m Monday – Friday.



Legion of Mary Meeting on Tuesdays at 9.00p.m.

Community Care A.G.M. on Wednesday 14th June at 8.30p.m. in the Resource Centre.

Women's Group A.G.M. on Wednesday 21st June at 9.00p.m. in the Resource Centre.


Church Notices

Mass Times:

Weekdays at 10.00a.m.

Saturday Vigil:   8.15p.m .

Sunday:   11.30a.m.


Masses this week:

Monday:     Kathleen Forde (Laragon)

Tuesday:    Michael & Elizabeth Scott

Wednesday:   Tom & Eileen Flannery

Thursday:   Jean Harrison   

Friday:   No Mass

Saturday 10.00a.m.:    John Tighe & Barbara

Saturday 8.15p.m.: Jimmy Jordan

Sunday 11.30a.m.:   Michael Thomas Walsh


Eucharist Ministers:

Saturday Vigil:    Mary Hefferon

Sunday:    Seán Callaghan



Saturday Vigil:   Elaine Walsh

Sunday:    Nuala Delaney



7.00p.m.:   Mary Hefferon, Breege Gardiner

7.30p.m.:   Anne Winters, Peggy Burke

8.00p.m.:    Gabrielle & Des Gribbin

8.30p.m.:    Anne & P.J. Madden


Community Care:

Cook:    Phil Healy

Driver:   John Kenny