Ballycastle >Local News
2nd May '07



Welcome Inn League Div 3B:   Ballycastle:   1 – 10;   Crossmolina:   0 – 7.

Two penalty saves from 2006 ‘Player of the Year' Jason O'Neill was the difference between the two teams.   Ballycastle led the game from beginning to end.   The game was played in St. Tiernan's Park, Crossmolina last Saturday evening.

Ballycastle Team:   Jason O'Neill, Colm Doherty, Darren Madden, Padraig Madden (0-1),

J.P. Guiheen (0-1), Shane Healy (0-1), Declan Caulfield (Captain), Daniel Forde (0-1), Shane Breslin, Patrick Tighe, John Madden (1-0penalty), Simon Barrett    (0-2), Jonathan McNulty (0-3),

Aodhan Tighe (0-1), Fergus Tighe.

Subs:   Michael Jackson for Aodhan Tighe;   Patrick McNulty for Jonathan McNulty;

Tom Gaughan for Colm Doherty;   Brian Healy for Simon Barrett;

Gerard Nealon for Declan Caulfield.


U-18 League:

Ballycastle were defeated by Mayo Gaels on Friday 27th April.

Ballycastle Team :   Stephen O'Neill, Niall Taylor, Paul Whelan, Michael Forde, Declan Murphy,

Ian McNulty, John Carey, Andrew Tighe, Shane McHale, Marcus Hunt, Patrick Healy.

Subs :   Richard Tighe, Dermot Kelly, Ethan Barrett.


U-16 League: Ballycastle:   4 – 5;     Parke-Keelouges-Crimlin:  2 – 10.

Ballycastle Team: Stephen O'Neill, Alex Keane, Keith Garry, Fergal Forde, Michéal Forde (1-0),

Ian McNulty (0-1), Darragh McHale (0-1), Aaron Hunt (0-2), Patrick Healy (1-0), Dermot Kelly (2-0), Joe Tighe (0-1).

Sub :   Patrick Maloney.



U-18: Eastern Gaels v Ballycastle on Friday 4th May at 7.00p.m.

U-16 :   No game until the Junior Cert exams are over.

Next Junior game is a championship game on the weekend of 26th /27th May.


County Board Draw

Tickets for the County Board/Club Draw are now available.   Ballycastle Club have a requirement by the County Board to sell 30 tickets and these are available from Club Officers.   There are six monthly draws and first draw takes place on 16th May with a 1st prize of a car.   Final date for purchase of tickets is Monday 7th May.



No's drawn on Saturday 28th April '07 were:   4.   11.   26.   28.    No Jackpot winner so Jackpot now stands at 5,100euro.    Next draw in Healys.

Five envelopes drawn:

John & Philomena Tighe, Lisbrin

Éilis & Máire McCann, Belderrig

Geraldine Moran, Annaghbeg

Mary Munnelly, Muingelly

Seamus Walsh, Kilbride



Confirmation in Ballycastle on Sunday 20th May at 4.00p.m. and in

Belderrig Sunday 13th May at 4.00p.m.   (No morning Mass in both Churches on those days.)


First Communion

First Holy Communion in Ballycastle on Sunday 27th May at 11.30a.m. Mass.


Church Notices

Mass Times:

Weekdays at 10.00a.m.

Saturday Vigil:   8.15p.m .

Sunday:   11.30a.m.


Masses this week:

Monday:   James & Mary McDonnell

Tuesday:   Mai Commins

Wednesday:   Kevin Healy ( Moyney )

Thursday:   Dan & Bridget Clarke

Friday 8.00p.m.:   John Collins & Bridgie (7.45p.m. St. Pio Novena)

Saturday Vigil:   Martin Connor ( Anniversary )

Sunday 11.30a.m.:   Michael Scott ( Anniversary )


Eucharist Ministers:

Saturday Vigil:    Eileen Grier

Sunday:    Seamus O'Connor



Saturday Vigil:   John Maughan

Sunday:    Nuala Delaney



7.00p.m.:   Josie Noone, Mary Anne Sweeney

7.30p.m.:   Cauleen Barrett, Peggy Burke

8.00p.m.:   Anne Carey, Bridget Langan

8.30p.m.:   Margaret Walsh, Mary Timlin


Community Care:

Cook:   Kathleen McDonnell

Driver:   Chris Maughan