Ballycastle >Local News


9th June '05

Raffle results

Congratulations to Paul Tighe, Black Bog Road, Carlow who won the Patchwork Quilt, made by Ballycastle Women's Group, in the raffle which was held in Lavelles Bar on Sunday 5th . The Winning ticket was sold in Ballycastle Post Office.

2nd Prizewinner:   Marion Burke, c/o Killeen (ticket sold in Mary's Cottage Kitchen)

3rd Prize:             Marie Tansey, Coolaney, Sligo (ticket sold by Florrie McBrien)

4th Prize:             Nora Conlon, Bonniconlon, Ballina (ticket sold in Craft Shop)

5th Prize:             Ciarán Kenny, Main Street, Ballycastle (ticket sold by Florrie McBrien)


Thank you to all the business outlets and individuals who sold tickets and all who bought tickets.   Your support is greatly appreciated.   Thank you also to the following who took part in the making of the quilt and especially Mauretti who designed it: Mauretti Bn Uí Fhlatharta, Agnes Winters, Mary Delaney, Sue Kneafsey, Carmel Tighe, Mary Jackson, Maeve Dunne, Kathleen McDonnell and Florrie McBrien.



The AGM of Ballycastle/Belderrig Development Company took place on Thursday 2nd June '05.   The following are the elected officers for the forthcoming year:

Chairperson:       Nuala Delaney Whelan

Treasurer:          Frances Burke

Secretary:          Maeve Dunne

PRO:                 Florrie McBrien

County Council Delegate:     Jarlath Munnelly

Moy Valley Delegate:          Pauline Busby


We would like to confirm that the “Shambles” is now debt free and we hope to be in a position to commence a project for this property in the coming months.

A copy of the Chairperson's Report and the company accounts are on display in the Resource Centre, Ballycastle.




The Chairwoman and Directors of Ballycastle Development Company would like to take this opportunity to thank the following people for their ongoing support and commitment on a weekly basis to our Lotto:   Frances Burke, Florrie McBrien, all the collectors, the publicans and shopkeepers and the people of Ballycastle for their continued support.


The promoter's prize this year was won by Deanes and a voucher for 75euro for a restaurant of their choice will be with them shortly.



Sympathy is extended to the family, relatives and friends of P. J. Ruddy, Kilfian (father of Patricia Newman) who died recently.

Sympathy is also extended to the family, relatives and friends of Anne Hegarty, (Nee Gilmartin, late of Killerduff) who has died in Canada.

May they rest in peace.



Players meeting on Saturday night (11th ) at 9.00p.m. in the Resource Centre.   All players are asked to attend.   Polo Shirts and windshields with Ballycastle G.A.A. Crest are available by phoning Martin Hefferon at 087 – 2671759 before 10th June.


Senior League:   Achill v Ballycastle on Sunday next (12th ) in Achill at 1.30p.m.


21 st Birthday

Congratulations to Cora Scott, Ballykinlettra who celebrated her 21st Birthday on Sunday night last with a party in Seaview Lounge.


Tidy Towns

The Committee wish to thank the Development Company for their generous donation, it is very much appreciated.

Mayo Co. Council reminds us that the “Litter League” is in full swing.   Everyone is urged to clean around their own premises, but to sweep on to the public road is completely unacceptable.


Table Quiz

Table Quiz in aid of Community Games on Friday 10th June in Healys at 9.30p.m.  



Numbers drawn on 4th June'05 were: 12.   13.   14.   27.

There was no Jackpot winner so the Jackpot now stands at €11,700.

Five Envelopes drawn:

Laurence Scott,               Ballycastle

Suzanne, Fergal & Paul O'Connor, Ballycastle

Teresa Flannelly,             Lacken

Sean Tighe,                    Lisbrin

Hannah Kelly,                Ballycastle


Corpus Christi Procession

Weather was lovely on Sunday last so the Annual Corpus Christi Procession took place after 11.30a.m. Mass along the usual route through the town, Dominick Street and Seaview Estate.


Church Notices

Mass Times:

Weekdays at 10.00a.m.

Saturday Vigil:   8.00p.m.

Sunday:   11.30a.m.


Masses this week:

Monday:       Augustin & Catherine Brown

Tuesday:      Paddy & Gerry Killeen

Wednesday:   Madden & Keane Families

Thursday:      Private Intention

Friday:          Private Intention

Saturday 10.00a.m:   P.J. Ruddy

Saturday Vigil:          Bridget & Thomas Healy & Martin (Behy)

Sunday 11.30a.m.:    Frank & Mary Farrell (The Glen)


Eucharist Ministers:

Saturday Vigil: Mary Hefferon

Sunday:          Mary Boyle



Saturday Vigil: Mary Munnelly

Sunday:           Pauline Busby


Adoration : (Tuesday)

7.00p.m:     Mary Anne Sweeney, Josie Noone

7.30p.m.:    Cauleen Barrett, Peggy Burke

8.00p.m.:    Anne Carey, Bridget Langan

8.30p.m.:    Margaret Walsh, Mary Timlin


Community Care:

Cook:        Mary Bilbow

Driver:      Seamus Bilbow